Padma Awards 2020,2021 : Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and 119 people Honoured .

President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday conferred the Padma awards on 119 people at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi .

This year’s list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma shri awards . Among the recipients 29 are woman , 16 posthomus awardees and one transgender awardee .

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi , union home minister Amit Shah and union external minister S Jaishankar were among the dignitaries who attended the event .

The Padma Awards are among the top civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given on three categories : Padma Vibushan , Padma Bhushan , Padma Shri .

Hindustani classical singer Pandit Chhannulal Mishra received Padma Vibhushan , the second -highest civilian honour of the country . Pandit mishra had been honoured with Padma Bhushan in 2010 and Sangeet Natak Akademi award in 2000.

Former external affairs minister Sushma swaraj was honoured with the Padma Vibhushan posthumously . She passed out on August 6 ,2019 following a cardiac arrest .

Among others who were awarded the Padma vibhushan were former union minister George Fernandes and Arun Jaitley .

Padma shri was conferred to Harekala Hajabba for social work , also to renowned litterateur of Santhali language Damayanti Beshra .

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button