G7 Countries Pledges $29.5 billion to war torn Ukraine; Invites PM Narendra Modi

On Monday, the affluent Group of Seven (G7) nations announced their plans to impose additional sanctions on Russia while also pledging $29.5 billion in support of the war-torn Ukraine. Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK, and the US declared in a joint statement that they were ready to defend Ukraine “for as long as it takes.”

According to a draught statement obtained by Bloomberg, “We will continue to stand with Ukraine for as long as it takes and provide financial, humanitarian, military, and diplomatic support.” The language is crucial because alliance countries are worried that the conflict would stretch on and because some, like Germany and France, have made suggestions that they might be more receptive to the concept of a negotiated cease-fire.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will participate in the G7 Summit taking place in Germany, where the heads of the seven richest nations in the world will discuss a number of crucial international issues, such as the Russian invasion of Ukraine, food security, and counterterrorism.

With the leaders of the G7 and its partners, Prime Minister Modi will discuss topics including energy, food security, counterterrorism, the environment, and democracy during his two days in Germany for the G7 summit.

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz invited Modi to the G7 meeting, which is being hosted in the Alpine castle of Schloss Elmau in southern Germany. In its role as the G7 chair, Germany is hosting the summit.

Along with inviting Argentina, Indonesia, Senegal, and South Africa as guests for the summit, Germany, the G7 Summit’s host nation, also recognized the democracies of the global south as allies.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button